Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

As part of the ICT for Electromobility II-Initiative

ICT for Electromobility


Supported by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology

The iZEUS Project Consortium

Pooled Competences of Industry and Science

The partners of the intelligent Zero Emission Urban System – iZEUS – project are ads-tec, Daimler, EnBW (coordinator), the Fraunhofer Society, KIT, Opel, PTV, SAP, and TWT. It is their objective to enhance research, development, and practical demonstration in the areas of energy, vehicle and traffic, the focus lying on smart traffic and smart grid. In this way, claims for a future leading market and for the role of leading supplier of electric mobility in Germany are strengthened. More information on the industry partners involved will be provided soon. 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

In autumn 2006, Universität Karlsruhe (TH) was awarded the predicate “elite university”. This success was based on the institutional strategy, according to which Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) was established on October 01, 2009 as a merger of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe and Universität Karlsruhe.

KIT combines the missions of the two precursory institutions, the mission of a state university with the tasks of education and research and the mission of a research center of the Helmholtz Association with program-oriented provident research on behalf of the federation. In pursuing these missions, KIT focuses on the three strategic fields of action of research, teaching, and innovation.

With a total annual budget of about EUR 700 million and nearly 9000 employees, KIT presently is the largest research institution in Germany. Strategic concentrating on a few, clearly defined competence areas and focuses provides for a very clear positioning of KIT in the German research system. The KIT Centers Energy (about 1100 scientists) and Mobility Systems (about 800 scientists) and the KIT COMMputation Focus (about 600 scientists) pool competences of high relevance to the “Information and Communication Technologies for Electric Mobility II” research program. “COMMputation” addresses the challenges faced by COMMunication and COMputation is creating reliable, efficient, and dependable application systems that are closely networked and have to adapt dynamically to changed requirements in their application environment. Based on extensive participation in the MEREGIO model region of the E-Energy Funding Program and the closely associated MeRegioMobil project as well as the German-French e-fleet test CROME, 11 chairs of KIT are involved in iZEUS.


Energy Supply for Tomorrow

Future Mobility

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Im Rahmen der IKT für Elektromobilität II-Initiative


Logo IKT für Elektromobilität

Logo Förderung BMWi

Das iZEUS-Projektkonsortium

Gebündelte Kompetenzen aus Industrie und Wissenschaft

Im Verbundprojekt intelligent Zero Emission Urban System - iZEUS - haben sich die Partner ads-tec, Daimler, EnBW (Konsortialführer), Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, KIT, Opel, PTV, SAP und TWT zusammengeschlossen, um Forschung, Entwicklung und praktische Demonstration in den Bereichen Energie, Fahrzeug und Verkehr mit den Schwerpunkten Smart Traffic und Smart Grid voranzutreiben und somit die Ansprüche eines zukünftigen Leitmarkts und der Leitanbieterrolle für Elektromobilität in Deutschland zu stärken.
Weitere Informationen zu den involvierten Partnern aus der Industrie folgen in Kürze.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Die Universität Karlsruhe (TH) erhielt im Herbst 2006 das Prädikat „Elite-Universität“. Mit der Umsetzung des diesem Erfolg zugrunde liegenden Zukunftskonzepts wurde am 1. Oktober 2009 das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) als Zusammenschluss des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe und der Universität Karlsruhe gegründet.

Im KIT vereinen sich die Missionen der beiden Vorläufer-Institutionen: einer Universität in Landeshoheit mit Aufgaben in Lehre und Forschung und einer Forschungseinrichtung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft mit programmorientierter Vorsorgeforschung im Auftrag des Staates. Innerhalb dieser Missionen positioniert sich das KIT entlang der drei strategischen Handlungsfelder Forschung, Lehre und Innovation.

Mit einem Gesamt-Jahresbudget von ca. 700 Mio. EUR und knapp 9000 Mitarbeitern ist dies die derzeit größte Forschungseinrichtung Deutschlands. Durch strategische Ausrichtung auf wenige, klar definierte Kompetenzbereiche und Schwerpunkte positioniert sich das KIT präzise in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft. In den KIT-Zentren Energie (rund 1100 Wissenschaftler) und Mobilitätssysteme (rund 800 Wissenschaftler) sowie dem KIT-Schwerpunkt COMMputation (rund 600 Wissenschaftler) werden Kompetenzen gebündelt, die hohe Relevanz für das Forschungsprogramm „IKT für Elektromobilität II“ haben. „COMMputation“ adressiert die Herausforderungen an die kombinierten Beiträge von „COMMunication“ und „COMputation“ zur Schaffung verlässlicher, effizienter und vertrauenswürdiger Anwendungssysteme, die hochgradig vernetzt sind und sich dynamisch an veränderliche Anforderungen ihrer Einsatzumgebung anpassen müssen. Aufbauend auf der intensiven Mitwirkung an der Modellregion MEREGIO des E-Energy Förderprogramms sowie dem damit eng verbundenen Projekt MeRegioMobil und dem Deutsch-Französischen eFlottenversuch CROME beteiligt sich das KIT mit 11 Lehrstühlen an iZEUS.


KIT-Expertise für eine Nachhaltige Energieversorgung von morgen


Konzepte und Technologien für den Verkehr von morgen